Athletics

Metropolitan Campus Athletics Program

MELS High School students can try out to participate in PSAL (Public School Athletic League) afterschool sports through our Metropolitan Campus Athletics Program.

Athletic Director: Yesenia Tamayo (QMHS), ytamayo@queensmetro.com
Athletic Liaison: Shayna Preistly (MELS), spriestly@metropolitanels.com

Fall Sports: AUGUST – NOVEMBER:

SPORT COACH CONTACT
Girls Varsity Volleyball Coach Faya jfaya@queensmetro.com
Girls JV Volleyball Coach Shean tshean@queensmetro.com
Girls Varsity Swimming Coach Kopunek
Coach Morales
akopunek@gmail.com
smorales26@schools.nyc.gov
Girls Varsity Soccer Coach Stipanov
Asst. Coach Beach
astipanov@queensmetro.com
ebeach@queensmetro.com
Boys Varsity Soccer Coach Hong jhong@queensmetro.com
Boys Cross Country Coach Loh
Asst. Coach Zaino
jloh@queensmetro.com
jlzaino@metropolitanels.com
Girls Cross Country Coach Dudkiewicz adudkiewicz@queensmetro.com

FALL SPORTS-Season begins in August: Please email the coach directly to get information regarding times, dates, and location of tryouts.

All students (including incoming freshmen) MUST have a MEDICAL AND PARENTAL CONSENT FORM completed and turned in PRIOR to trying out. NO EXCEPTIONS!

  • You may tryout for as many sports as you want BUT cannot be on more than one team per season.
  • Coach has right to deny tryout if past deadlines set by coach.
  • Only ONE Medical Form needs to be turned in per student
  • A Parental Consent Form needs to be turned for EACH sport student is trying out for.

Winter Sports: NOVEMBER – FEBRUARY

SPORT COACH CONTACT
Girls Varsity Basketball Coach Faya jfaya@queensmetro.com
Girls JV Basketball Coach Freed ifreed@queensmetro.com
Boys Varsity Basketball Coach Loh jloh@queensmetro.com
Boys JV Basketball Coach Rosenthal mrosenthal@metropolitanels.com
Wrestling Coach Stern mstern@metropolitanels.com
Boys Indoor Track Coach Zaino jlzaino@metropolitanels.com
Girls Indoor Track Coach Dudkiewicz adudkiewicz@queensmetro.com

Spring Sports: MARCH – MAY

SPORT COACH CONTACT
Girls Varsity Softball Coach DiLapi cdilapi@metropolitanels.com
Boys Varsity Baseball Coach Freed ifreed@queensmetro.com
Boys Varsity Volleyball Coach Shean tshean@queensmetro.com
Boys Outdoor Track Coach Zaino jlzaino@metropolitanels.com
Girls Outdoor Track Coach Dudkiewicz adudkiewicz@queensmetro.com
Co-Ed Stunt Coach Stalford kstalford@queensmetro.com
Girls JV Soccer Coach Stern mstern@metropolitanels.com

We partner with Queens Metropolitan High School and more information about athletics can be found on the Metropolitan Campus Athletics Page.

Please see the below links for more information:
Queens Metro Athletics and the Public Schools Athletic League